Association Kan Jizai

"To Study the Way is to study ourselves
To study ourselves is to forget ourselves
To forget ourselves is to be at one with all existences"
Master Dgen


The history of Zen
The origins of Zen date back to Shakyamuni Buddha in India in the 6th century BC. These teachings eventually spread to China where they were known as Chan, and later to Japan, where they became Zen.

The history of Zen is closely linked with that of the masters who transmitted it through the centuries.
Shakyamuni Buddha
Born in the 9th century BC in a princely family, Siddharta Gautama grew up in lavish surroundings, protected from the harshness of the world. Legend has it that when he was born, fortune-tellers predicted that he would be a universal sovereign, a Buddha. His father who intended for him the life of a prince, who would succeed him as king, ordered that he be sheltered from everything unpleasant.

However, one day, Siddharta Gautama broke the rule and went for a walk outside the palace. There he met an old man, then a sick man, and then a funeral procession. He realized the impermanence of all things and this aroused hin him Bodaishin, the mind of awakening. (ou: this awakened him to bodaishin, the mind of enlightenment). He left the palace and its lavish lifestyle and took up a life of renunciation.

He started searching for masters who could teach him spiritual techniques, but the teachings he received left him dissatisfied. He then followed a strictly ascetic lifestyle but he realized after a while that it would not lead him to awakening.

Sitting on some cut grass under the Bodhi tree (Ficus Religiosa), in the lotus position, he decided not to move until he attained enlightenment. He was then 35 years old. His awakening and life are told in several sutras (especially the Majjhima Nikaya) and works (Buddha, by Jacques Brosse, Pygmalion Publishers-The Historical Buddha by H.W Shumann - Sully Publishers).



Bodhidharma, the first chinese patriarch. 5th century
Bodhidharma was the third son of the king of a state in southern India. Regretting the decline of the real teaching of Buddha, he decided to leave his country to go to China.

He arrived in the south of Canton around 470 AD, then settled in Luoyang at Shaolin temple where he meditated continuously for nine years.


He had two deeply motivated disciples, Tao-yu and Houei-ko (Eka in Japanese), who served him for ten years. According to the tradition Houei-ko received the transmission from him and became thus the second Chinese patriarch.

Eihei Dgen (1 200 1 253)
Dgen was born on January 2nd , 1200 in Uji, near Kyoto in a family belonging to the Minamoto clan. His father died when Dgen was only two and his mother when he was eight years old. When he saw the incense smoke rising up during his mothers funerals, he had his first experience of awakening, realizing the impermanence of all things.

When he was thirteen he joined Senkb monastery on Mount Hiei against the advice of his adoptive father who destined him for a brilliant career at court. A year later, he was ordained a monk.

When he was seventeen, Dgen joined Kennin-ji with master Myzen, Eisais legitimate successor. He followed his teachings for six years then went with him to China. There he met Master Nyjo from whom he received the transmission.

When he returned to Japan, he founded his first temple, Ksho-ji in Uji. In 1243, at the request of one of his lay disciples, Hatano Yoshishige, he founded Eihei-ji , today one of the two main temples of the St zen lineage.



Taisen Deshimaru (1914 1982)
Born in Saga in 1914, Taisen Deshimaru became a disciple of master Kodo Sawaki in the 30s. The latter is one of the most influential zen masters of the 20th century: he particularly insisted on the importance of zazen practice and was one of those who opened this practice to lay people. Unlike most zen masters, Taisen Deshimaru continued to lead a secular life while following his masters teachings. He was ordained a monk in 1965, shortly before Kodo Sawakis death. In 1967, he went to Europe and settled in Paris to transmit zen teaching.

In the 1970s, his mission developed fully. He received the Dharma transmission from Master Yamada Reirin, Abbot of Eihei-ji and became kaikyosokan (head of the Japanese St zen in a country or on a continent) in Europe. He trained many disciples and at his instigation a great number of places of practice were created. He founded the AZI in 1970 and the Gendronnire Zen Temple in 1979. He died in 1982, leaving a well-established zen practice in Europe.

Association Kan Jizai

"Etudier la Voie, c'est s'étudier soi-même
S'étudier soi-même, c'est s'oublier soi-même
S'oublier soi-même, c'est être en unité avec toutes les existences"
Maître Dôgen
   Sendan Zenji


Histoire du Zen
Les origines du Zen remontent au Bouddha Shakyamuni en Inde au VIème siècle avant JC. Ces enseignements se sont répandus par la suite en Chine et devinrent le Chan, qui introduit au Japon devint le Zen.

L'histoire du Zen est intimement liée à celles des maîtres qui l'ont transmis à travers les siècles.
Le Bouddha Shakyamuni
Né au VIème siècle avant J.C dans une famille princière, Siddharta Gautama grandit dans l’aisance et à l’abri des vicissitudes de la vie. La légende rapporte qu’à sa naissance, les devins avaient prédit qu’il serait un souverain universel, un Bouddha. Son père qui souhaitait que son fils mène une vie de prince puis de souverain, avait donné l’ordre que tout spectacle déplaisant soit épargné à son fils.

Mais un jour, Siddharta Gautama avait enfreint cette règle et il sortit se promener en dehors de la ville. Il rencontra un vieillard, un malade puis un cortège funèbre. La réalisation de l’impermanence de toute chose éveilla en lui bodaishin, l’esprit d’éveil, et lui fit quitter palais et richesse pour une vie de renonçant.

Il se mit en quête de maîtres capables de lui enseigner les techniques spirituelles, mais les enseignements qu’il reçut le laissèrent insatisfait. Il observa alors une ascèse rigoureuse mais réalisa au bout de quelque temps que cela ne le mènera pas à l’éveil.

Assis sous l’arbre de l’éveil ( Ficus Religiosa) sur une jonchée d’herbe, dans la posture du lotus, il prit la décision de ne pas bouger tant qu’il n’a pas atteint l’éveil. Il avait alors trente cinq ans. L’éveil et la vie du Bouddha sont relatés dans plusieurs sutras ( en particulier le Majjhima- Nikaya) et ouvrages ( Le Bouddha, par Jacques Brosse aux Editions Pygmalion – Le Bouddha historique, par H.W.Shumann aux Editions Sully).



Bodhidharma, le premier patriarche chinois. Vème siècle.
Bodhidharma était le troisième fils du roi d’un état du sud de l’Inde. Déplorant la décadence de l’enseignement authentique du Bouddha, il décida de quitter son pays pour la Chine.

Il arriva au sud de Canton vers l’an 470 puis alla s’installer à Luoyang au temple de Shaolin où il pratiqua la méditation sans interruption pendant neuf ans.


Il eut deux disciples aux motivations profondes, Tao-yu et Houei-k’o (Eka en japonais), qui le servirent pendant six ans. Selon la tradition Houei-k’o reçut de lui la transmission et devint ainsi le deuxième patriarche chinois.

Eihei Dôgen (1 200 – 1 253)
Né le 2 janvier 1200, à Uji, près de Kyoto dans une famille du clan Minamoto, Dôgen perd son père alors qu’il n’avait que deux ans et sa mère à l’âge de huit ans. En voyant la fumée d’encens s’élever lors des funérailles de sa mère, il eut sa première pensée d’éveil en réalisant l’impermanence de toute chose.

A l’âge de treize ans, il rejoint le monastère de Senkôbô sur le mont Hei contre l’avis de son père adoptif qui le prédestinait pour une brillante carrière à la cour. Un an plus tard, il reçut l’ordination de moine.

A l’âge de dix-sept ans, Dôgen rejoint le Kennin-ji, auprès du maître Myôzen, héritier légitime d’Eisai. Il suit ses enseignements pendant six ans puis l’accompagne en Chine. C’est là qu’il rencontrera Maître Nyôjo dont il reçut la transmission.

De retour au Japon, il fonde son premier temple, le Kôsho-ji à Uji. En 1243, à la requête d’un de ses disciples laïques, Hatano Yoshishige, il fonde le temple de Eihei-ji, qui est aujourd’hui un des deux principaux temples du zen Sôtô.



Taisen Deshimaru (1914 – 1982)
Né à Saga en 1914, Taisen Deshimaru devient disciple de maître Kodo Sawaki dans les années 1930. Ce dernier est l’un des maîtres zen les plus influents au XXème siècle : il a particulièrement insisté sur l’importance de la pratique de zazen et a été un de ceux qui ont ouvert cette pratique aux laïques. A la différence de la plupart des maîtres zen, Taisen Deshimaru a continué à mener une vie séculière tout en suivant l’enseignement de son maître. Il reçoit l’ordination de moine en 1965, peu de temps avant la mort de Kodo Sawaki. En 1967, il se rend en Europe et s’installe à Paris pour transmettre l’enseignement du zen.

Dans les années 1970, sa mission prend toute son ampleur. Il reçoit la transmission du Dharma de Maître Yamada Reirin, supérieur de Eihei-ji et devient kaikyosokan (responsable du zen Sôtô japonais dans un pays ou sur un continent) en Europe. Il forme de nombreux disciples et sous son impulsion un grand nombre de lieux de pratique sont créés. Il fond l’AZI en 1970 et le temple Zen de la Gendronnière en 1979. Il décède en 1982 après avoir fortement implanté la pratique du zen en Europe.